What Do You Think? – Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

What do You Think

It’s time again for everyone’s favorite segment: “What do you think?”

So hit the JUMP below to find out what today’s question is.

You’re Divorced, do you, should you, or would you keep the last name of your ex-spouse?

Picture Courtesy of www.cpgrupolegal.com

Picture Courtesy of http://www.cpgrupolegal.com

It depends on a lot of factors to whether or not you should or do. If you have been married for a long period of time and/or children are involved then it is better to keep your married name. I kept my married name for several reasons but the main two were the children and we had been married for 17 years.

-NWIP Via Yahoo Answers

My lawyer asked and I said to go ahead and change it back to my maiden name, but 10 years later, I still use my ex-husband’s name (except to vote) because I don’t have to spell it like I always have to do with my maiden name.

-Bentley

No “shoulds” about it. It is a divorced woman’s choice. Sometimes expense is involved if she is a professional and has licenses to change.

In my case, I will keep the name as it is my sons’.

-MsB Via Yahoo Answers

If you have children, you might want to keep their last name. But, otherwise, it is a personal decision that only you can make.

-Annie

It’s up to you. I got divorced and took my last name back. So it’s up to you.

-A Mother of 1 Via Yahoo Answers

I kept my married surname because I had younger children still in school.

– 2 Westies Via Yahoo Answers

I would because that is the last name of my children.

-Kelly

So, how about it guys, what do you think?  Leave your thoughts and ideas in the comments section below.

Like this post?  Want to see more? Have any tips or ideas for upcoming posts?  Well if so, then you can contact Kitty LaRue below.

Leave a Reply

