Ways to Better Your Life: Let Go and Love

Ways to Better Your Life- Let Go and Love

I have no patience.  Well actually I have some patience, but for the most part, ignorant and stupid people annoy me, and I mean the blatant ignorance.  Like the asshole at the grocery store who decides to get in the 20 items or less lane with 50 items and then proceeds to argue with the cashier when they won’t cash them out, thus holding up the entire line.  That kind of blatant ignorance and self-entitlement annoys me.  But this article has a good point, letting go of impatience can be quite healthy.  I’m going to have to try it.

Via The Love Project Inc.:

Involved in everything we want are others who also have their wants and desires as well as the unexpected because life has its own rhythm.   So, rather than live a life of frustrations, I work at cultivating patience.

We need to do it because we are tested on a regular basis.  It seems that standing in line or on hold is now a daily occurrence.   And so if we don’t practice patience we are going to be buried under a mountain of frustration.

In terms of goals, it seems that achieving what we want now takes more time and more work.  There is great competition and many obstacles.   So again without practicing patience we will simply self-destruct.

When I know I have to wait long at a doctor’s office or hold a phone to my ear until it feels it’s become part of my being; I talk to myself before it happens.  I do it as if talking to a child.  I remind myself that losing my “cool” won’t do me any good.  It will actually make things worse.  I say to myself: “If you want such and such to happen you have to keep calm.”  I also make sure to have reading or writing materials so if I can, I’ll make myself busy.

In terms of goals – that’s a tough of one.  You really want something, you’ve done all you could, and now you have to wait.  But there lies the key to patience.  You’ve done all you could.  Once I hit that point I tell myself to let go.  There is nothing else more to do then to stay busy with other things and let life take its course.  The minute I feel the feeling of frustration or impatience creeping in, I turn my attention to something else.  I make myself busy.  If my mind is engage with living then I have no time to let frustration build up.

Try these techniques and if they don’t work for you, find your own and let me know.  Dealing with frustration and impatience is a lifelong commitment.   I shall have other suggestions soon.

I actually do currently do some of the tips he mentioned, and I have to say, ever since I’ve started actually focusing on the techniques (consciously and subconsciously); I have become more patient and less annoyed.

Share some of your stress reliving techniques in the comments section.

Like this post?  Want to see more? Have any tips or ideas for upcoming posts?  Well if so, then you can contact Kitty LaRue below.

Leave a Reply

